West Yorkshire Police

About the Band

Meet the Band

Musical Director



Media Links

Useful Links

Listen To the Band


West Yorkshire Police Band


Police Bands have entertained the public in West Yorkshire for over a century. Bradford City Police Band was formed as long ago as 1899, with Leeds City following some fifteen years later. In 1974 the Leeds and Bradford forces amalgamated to form The West Yorkshire Metropolitan Police, and both bands merged at that time to become The West Yorkshire Police Band. Initially military in style, with woodwind, brass and percussion, in 1984 a new ethos was agreed and from that date the band has been styled in the traditional Brass Band format. Originally composed of serving Police Officers, the Band now also draws from the wider Police Family, retired Police officers, and members of the public. Since its inception, the Band appears nationwide for charitable organisations in concerts and parades, and channels all proceeds to the West Yorkshire Police Community Trust (est. 1996). This Trust focuses its grant programme on the promotion of a Safer Community with over £100,000 being awarded through grants. The band practices on a Monday and Thursday in the Lecture theatre at The Force Training School, Bishopgarth, Wakefield 20:00 till 21:30 new players always welcome.



©  West Yorkshire Police Band

The West Yorkshire Police Band is looking to appoint a new musical director. The band is non-contesting and has a manageable concert and parade schedule. The band principally consists of non police personnel with just three serving police officers and three civilian police support staff.**

The band rehearse on Monday and Thursday evenings at the West Yorkshire Police Force Training complex in Wakefield.

For further information about this position please contact Keith Williams 07770 940847

Expressions of interest with a CV and marked private should be sent to:

DC Simon Marshall

Assistant Band Manager

West Yorkshire Police Brass Band

Huddersfield Police Station





Normandy 2010